Reflective Critical Evaluation

The aim of my final major project was to create a short comedy piece highlighting the issues around female objectification, specifically picking fun of a small minority of people who think misogyny is okay. I aimed to demonstrate that female objectification still happens and how ridiculous it is, that it does. I did this by showing female objectification in its literal sense by the main character using women as furniture.

The script for my film, in order for my message to get across, the script had to push the jokes towards the right character. What I mean by this, is that George was the villain of my film and Jess, his sister is the hero or voice of reason. In order for the audience to get that George is in the wrong, he had to be a dislikable character, as well as Jess being the funny character but in the right. By writing the character of George as a cocky, dismissive type of person, I feel that the aim of George being disliked works well. On the other hand with Jess, I also think her character works well as she comes across as a relatable, “say it how it is” type of person. Her character also works well in delivering the message across as well as being likeable through her relationship with George. For example, because she is his sister, it seems more natural for her to be telling him off and swearing at him. Instantly, anyone with a sister will understand the relationship and connect with her.

One thing I would change about the script is the character of Amelia. I understand that a vast audience could potentially watch my film when it is made and question her role in terms of why she would sit there and let a man put a lampshade on her head without saying anything to him or trying to stop him. When looking back at the script, I feel like it could be interpreted that I aim to show Amelia as a weak character. However, if I was to rewrite the script, I would revise her character and change some of her reactions to George’s proposals. My initial aim was for Amelia’s character was to be shy however, there is a fine line between demonstrating shy and submissive I have found and it is something I would consider changing for next time.

In terms of pushing my message across, I feel like the script works well when compared to ‘Straight Faces’ which I took inspiration from. The aim was to not to be too in the audiences face about my message I wanted to project. I therefore wanted to use the characters as vehicles to highlight the issues and caricature them in a comical manner in order for the audience to understand the issues with my character’s choices, in order to take the message that female objectification is wrong. In terms of fulfilling this aim, I have succeeded. Female objectification is never mentioned in the script likewise to Straight Faces. Additionally, it works well at making a mockery of George who is a misogynist and demonstrates that his views are outdated and ridiculous.

The storyboard for my comedy had to demonstrate how comedy moments were going to be created and how the camera treated the character. In terms of the comedy aspect of my shot choices, I rely heavily on timing. When creating my animatic, I tried to demonstrate the comedic timing and the type of shots to reinforce a funny moment in my piece. One moment in particular is the line “what the fuck is this?”. In my storyboard I have created a low angle shot combined with an instant reaction shot between Jess and George with Amelia. Based on a similar scene from The Inbetweeners as discussed in my development blog, the scene when filmed should work just as well. Not demonstrated in my storyboard but discussed again in my planning I aim to do a slight zoom in post production to emphasise the word ‘fuck’ as I feel this would add more comedic value to the line. I also feel as though the emphasis on this line reinforces the shock to the audience about what he is doing is ridiculous. I think the idea when filmed properly will definitely initialise the start of making the audience see George is in the wrong and see that Jess is the voice of reason at this point.

It is difficult to compare my storyboard to other films and TV programs already out there as my piece isn’t finished. However, as the storyboard stands along side the individual images I have created, from what I have produced I feel that a cinematographer or DOP can understand my ideas and recreate the storyboard as a film. When creating the animatic, I arranged it to show the key moments of my piece but to still make sense.

The shots and angles chosen for my storyboard and film were carefully considered both practically and based on the messages I want to show to the audience. For example, most shots of Jess are from a low angle projecting her as a person in control of the situation and in charge of George. When Jess enters the scenes George is shown from a higher angle to demonstrate his loss of power over the situation. Throughout the film, the aim is to show George as the one in the wrong and with this choice of camera angles I think I am able to demonstrate that. At the start of the film, most of the shot are from neutral angles to show equilibrium and equal power between Amelia and George, until he asked her to start dressing like a lamp. I have used medium closeups and closeups throughout the storyboard to emphasise reactions from both dramatic and comical effects. I feel like these will work very well in showing my intentions based on the fact I have seen these types of shots in The Inbetweeners, Friday Night Dinner and again in Straight Faces.

Additionally, my choice of mostly handheld shots, comes from the look of British comedies like the ones previously discussed. The idea is that British comedies aren’t heavily based on fantastic cinematography, the aim is to get the joke across, and in my case the message also. I think it is important to use this method in my work as the message is and comedy is more important than the way it looks.

For the costume design of my characters I decided to go for stereotypes to help the audience understand the types of characters much easier. Using dating shows as a guide I want the audience to judge the way the character is going to be like based on the way they’re dressed, For example George wearing Jeans and a shirt, I hope that it would suggest to the audience that he is making at least a slight effort in order for Amelia to do what he wants.

Again with Amelia, I wanted to put across the fact she is shy and timid, and in my mind I imagined her as wearing a pinfold dress to make herself look pretty but not look like she’s made too much of an effort. Finally with Jess, she has a laid back attitude but feisty when it comes to George. So, I thought that he laidback personality would be shown more through her wearing loungewear type clothes e.g. jogging bottoms and white top.

With  the costume choices I also chose the clothes based on the opposite of the sexualisation of women. This was the most important aspect of my costume decisions as my film is against objectifying women and I didn’t want the characters to be in costumes that would endorse that. I feel like this was a good choice as it wouldn’t be something the audience would initially pick up upon but it was something I wanted to consider.

Overall, with my script, storyboard, shot list and costume design ideas which have individually been considered to reflect my aims and messages for my film. Unfortunately, it hasn’t been possible to create the film as a finished product but from what I have produced I feel it displays the right message and outcome. I have thoroughly researched into British comedy and script writing. I have also considered every last detail within the storyline to endure a wide audience takes away the intended message. If the film was made I feel that it would work a British comedy sketch, that has the underlying message that “it’s not okay to objectify women, and especially don’t make them your floor lamp”.

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.