Work Based Learning Motion Graphics Planning and Research: Burlingtons

The initial idea for this was a simple fade in of the Burlington’s logo at the start of the promotional video behind a tracking shot which I filmed when I shot the footage at the salon. However during the editing process I had the idea to animate aspects of the logo such as the swirl and the individual text parts.

The final idea was to create two different versions of the logo for both the beginning of the end. The version for the opening of the promotional video would just be the animated logo, and the second version would include the company logo to finish the video off nicely.

The aim of the promotional video was to show a bit of class and sophistication. And so by animating the swirl, I thought that, that would reflect that.

I would include all of the company’s brand colours, logos etc. But as I was unable to get a high quality file, I had to research which font was correct in their logo. I used the colour picker tool on the individual text parts to ensure I had the correct colour.

Image result for burlingtons hair salon Image result for copperplate font

After trail and error, I was able to identify the font used for logo which was ‘Copperplate’ this was a built in font on After Effects which was very lucky. I also found out that the graphic designer used two versions of this font the regular version for the ‘Burlingtons’ and the light version for ‘Hair Salon’. This was also included in After Effects too.

One aspect which I did have to use from the original logo was the swirl as I didn’t want to try and replicate it as I didn’t have the graphic design skills to do so. However what I had so far was enough to create the motion graphics.

This sketch is for the first version of the logo.

This sketch is for the second version of the logo, with the company slogan on the bottom.

All aspects of this motion graphics project are quite simple and all the skills I have learnt during tutorial have covered how to do what I am trying to achieve.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.